The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people would accept that one of the highest priorities today is to find a solution to the various environmental problems facing mankind. While i agree that increasing the fuel prices offers certain advantages for the environment, i would argue that it is not the most optimum way to alleviate international environmental problems.

On the one hand, it is somehow advisable for governments to raise the taxes on fossil fuels. Practically, greater cost of transportation fuel would discourage one from using cars and motorbikes, which could promote public transport system simultaneously. This measure means a reduction on the exhaust emissions which are responsible for global warming and greenhouse effects. In addition, in terms of depletion of natural resources, raising the fuel prices would help remain and store the non-renewable fossil fuel sources and reduce the dependence of people on these energy sources. As the world supplies of oil will not last forever so the less we use fossil fuels, the more helpful we are to the environment.

On the other hand, i believe that when it comes to reducing the greenhouse gas emissions, some feasible measures could be taken to mitigate the problems of our environment. Firsly, introducing a restriction on the use of private vehicles must be high on the goverment agenda. This would many roads from heavy traffic by reducing the number of vehicles, which in return alleviates the problem of pollution caused by exhaust. For example, the congestion charge in some countries has partly lessened the degree of pollution. Secondly, it is necessary for the international bodies to allocate resources to the ability of alternative sources such as wind, solar and tidal energy, which create virtually little environmental damage. A shift from our traditional fuel consumption will create a long-term path for us human to walk on, reducing the amount of pollution we create, thus protecting our true home, the Earth.

In conclusion, although increasing the price of fuel can partially ease the problem of global environmental destruction, i believe that there are other feasible methods to deal with the global environmental issues.