Examine the arguments in favour of and against animal experiments and come to a conclusion on this issue Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge Write at least 250 words

For the past few centuries, there has been a significant advancement in medical sciences. Experiments spanning over different animal species have resulted in important discoveries. Few people believe that doing testing on animals is cruel, while other argues that these experiments should continue to benefit mankind. This essay will analyze both pros and cons of conducting trials on animals.

People favoring laboratory experiments on animals argue that it is the best way to research, analyze and observe effects of different medicines before testing them on human beings. Experiments conducted over animal species have resulted in the development of vital medicines including vaccines, drugs and antibiotics. For instance, polio which was a widespread disease in the mid-nineties was developed after rigorous testing on mice and monkeys, unavailability of these experimental subjects would have left the world in an epidemic state. Moreover, animal testing helps medical students to seek the required knowledge and advance in the research domain. Researchers also aim to minimize the suffering that animal experience.

On the other hand, trials and experiments on animals are cruel and we have no moral right to take away their lives for the sake of our research work. Their existence and ecosystem should be respected. There are many alternates available to perform scientific research. In many countries, testing for the cosmetic industry on animal race in now prohibited. Moreover, experiments on animal species might not give us the same result as they have different anatomy and biological system than human beings.

To conclude, the above provide solid arguments in highlighting merits and demerits of doing experiments on animals. In my opinion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages, but research and evaluation should be done in a controlled way. The government should also set up strict policies and regulation which should keep the animal as an experimental subject in critical research purpose only.