Excessive consumption of sugar causes many health related issues. Some people believe the government should control population’s sugar intake while others think people themselves should be responsible for their sugar eating habits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Despite the detrimental effects of consuming sugar excessively, the amount of sugar used by people is rising. While it is believed by some that the government should control the usage of sugar, others argue that people themselves, should be in charge of changing their habit of sugar consumption. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and explain my support for the latter view.

Some people argue that the government has an undeniably important role in sugar intake reduction by controlling the amount of sugar in food products and publicizing less intake of sugar. Firstly, the government can impose higher taxes on sugar-rich products and allocate subsidies for products that use healthy alternatives of sugar, leading to a rise in the costs of sugar products, which in turn causes a decline in sugar consumption. Secondly, the detriments of abundant sugar intake can be publicized by government, tackling the problem in family level.

However, some disagree and believe that people have a central role in altering their habits of sugar eating. It is obviously clear that nobody is more prone to the risks of high levels of sugar intakes than oneself. Although, diabetes and obesity impose great expenses on governments, but it is the sick person and his family who suffer the most. Thus, everyone should take the necessary measures to lower their sugar consumption, decreasing the costs spent on healthcare. For instance, children can be thought from early ages to have healthy eating habits. Moreover, publicity of less sugar intake is aimed to make people aware of the dangers of unhealthy sugar intake habits and to encourage them to reduce their sugar intake.

To conclude, although the government has an important role, I believe that the onus is on people to change their sugar consumption habits, which would lead to a healthier society and a great decrease in money spent on healthcare system.