Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment.
What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people
do?
Humans are responsible for a variety of environmental problems, but we can also
take steps to reduce the damage that we are causing to the planet. This essay will
discuss environmental problems and the measures that governments and individuals
can take to address these problems.
Two of the biggest threats to the environment are air pollution and waste. Gas
emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming,
which may have a devastating effect on the planet in the future. As the human
population increases, we are also producing ever greater quantities of waste, which
contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans.
Governments could certainly make more effort to reduce air pollution. They could
introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies to use
renewable energy from solar, wind or water power. They could also impose ‘green
taxes’ on drivers and airline companies. In this way, people would be encouraged to
use public transport and to take fewer flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions.
Individuals should also take responsibility for the impact they have on the
environment. They can take public transport rather than driving, choose products
with less packaging, and recycle as much as possible. Most supermarkets now
provide reusable bags for shoppers as well as ‘banks’ for recycling glass, plastic and
paper in their car parks. By reusing and recycling, we can help to reduce waste.
In conclusion, both national governments and individuals must play their part in
looking after the environment.