Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Due to the rush actions of individuals, our planet Earth is under threat. However, this problem can be addressed through government`s tight regulation and awareness of people. This essay will discuss some harmful activities for the nature and will come up with solutions to solve or alleviate this problem.

There are various environmental problems. First of all, climate change which is the acute problem of our society is the result of reckless human action. In other words, because of overpopulation people are in dire need of highly lucrative factories that can provide food to the population. In turn, the factories release carbon dioxide, which depletes the ozone layer of the earth and promotes global warming. It is well known fact that an increase in global average temperature causes numerous problems as megafire, deforestation, biodiversity deterioration therefore, this issue should be tackled. Besides, plastic prolusion is another problem. By the way of explanation, all plastic that produced for human needs are not degradable, hence excessive use of plastic causes plastic pollution which involves the accumulation of plastic products and microplastics in the environment that adversely affects wildlife, marine life or human. For example, it has been estimated that over 400,000 marine mammals perish annually due to plastic pollution in oceans.

Turning to the possible solutions, government should launch carbon tax. To make it clearly, a carbon tax is a government fee imposed on companies that burn coal, oil, or gas. As an example, taxes are in use around the world, in places including China and some U.S. states, not least California which cover 21 percent of global greenhouse gas emissions. Moreover, it is one’s duty to take care of planet. Thus, in order to reduce plastic use people can use bio-plastic which is biodegradable, sustainable and absolutely safe for our environment. For instance, scientists said that bio-plastic from avocado seeds the best alternative to ordinary plastic.

In conclusion, as far as environmental problems are concerned with implementing some solutions for each problem by both government and people could prevent large-scale destruction of the environment and save humankind.