Families who do not send their children to government-financed schools should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

According to the constitution of most of the democracies around the world and various Human Resource organizations , Universal education is a basic fundamental right to be provided to all of its citizens free of cost. The Governments of the nations are responsible to fulfill this duty and perform this responsibility by levying taxes on its residents. So I absolutely do not believe that families who don't send their children to government-financed school should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education.

I can present a couple of reasons on why I don't opine with the topic. Firstly, the money families pay to Government will go into running a school, providing scholarships and aids to poor and needy children , additionally this move can socially empower a society by uplifting an economically weaker section.

For example , millions of for-profit institution going kids' pay taxes to the Government , who uses them on education of the kids of the BPL(below poverty line) category, who get socially uplifted through this exercise by being eligible for jobs. They will finally income someday and become taxpayers, thus supporting another impoverished child. This cycle will overall turn a third-world country into a first-world country by improving the nation's growth parameters such as GDP.

Secondly , if such a tax-exemption is introduced regarding education the government will be potentially facing a loss of approximately a billion dollars as more people would enroll their posterity in a private-funded school. For example with the reduction in the taxes , government would have to shell out money from government-run educational institutes to run themselves, thus leading to a slow death of such institutions as they would be unable to upgrade their facilities to meet the standards and would therefore stand to lose many bright students.

So I strongly believe that government must not make such a diastrous policy move because not only will it affect the future of a hundreds of thousands of poverty-ridden children and an entire generation but also will affect the Nation's economy, especially if it is a rapidly growing economy.