Many people have difficulty maintaining a healthy diet.

What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Healthy diet- although entered into mainstream public health discourse in the 21st century, is a very old way of life with its' early roots dating back as early as 776 BCE. Historical records are a proof the regimented diet plan of the ancient Greek Olympians. They emphasized on the idea of "Le Sana corporae Sana " - healthy body in healthy mind and new that good and healthy food is the key to it, something exhibited by today our society's rolemodels - cinema stars and sportspersons. Despite an increased level of awareness among the people of today, they still fall behind in keeping up a healthy diet and there are several reasons to explain these. Firstly, amongst important ones is lifestyle. In today's world where speed is the defining feature of everything, we as humans tend to speed ourselves up and in doing so, inevitably mess up our food habits and plans. We tend to spend lesser time on eating food and this has resulted in a lot of problems. This has caused a permanent shift towards eating 'fast food. " With economic liberalization many fast food chain companies thrive on the fast-paced eating habits of man. So people prefer eating a juicy mayo-filled burger over a box fruits. Next for people in white collar jobs residing in the cities they face a huge stress in balancing work and life. They need to work for hours in office, stay back if required, go with the boss if he/she is needed, leading to disruption of diet plans. So, considering the gravity of the problem I wish to table some potential ideas and solutions to the problem. The first amongst them is recommendation to keep the food habits and eating time flexible. This eases out a lot of stress on the person. They need to take food at regular intervals on their choice and their foods must be curated according to their time, lifestyle and circumstances (unforeseen included). Example for a person accustomed to eating rise and chapatis, may face some problems adapting to food habits in a different country. So rice can be replaced with risotto or pasta to maintain the quality. Also they must look for options amongst food that can be quickly cooked.

So while listing the causes and the potential solutions it is essential to note that healthy diet has a wide range of food under its helm that should allow for some flexibility to operate and maintain a healthy body.