Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated.

What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Feedback and evaluation are a validation of what we have done. In schools , kids are validated by their teachers and at work employees by their bosses. But the problem with this mechanism is the manner in which it is executed makes us demoralized, hence many people dislike being evaluated.

There are a quite a number of reasons believed to be causing this. Firstly , the examiner always tends to carry an air of arrogance when taking stock of the work and always tends to judge the knowledge of the examinee , causing them to dislike this grading environment. This attitude is the root cause of all problems. For example, take the case of a student studying in a school who has been assigned with a project.

After completion , the pupil goes to the teacher to get it checked and marked. All's well if the work is perfect , but in cases of the task not fulfilling the mark the teacher goes full blast on the kid. Instead of lauding the efforts and pointing the mistakes, the teacher's patronizing tone breaks down the kid's hopes on the number of marks system.

This problem can be solved , if the professors assume the role of the pupil's guide and friend , instead of seating themselves of a pedestal of pride. They must be polite and sympathetic to the children while correcting. For Example A teacher who talks to a kid in a warming fashion is more likely to guide the kid understand the error and justify her calculation of the task's marks given. Also a system of grades must be adopted replacing the numerical marks system. This won't create unnecessary sub-divide amongst the examiners on the basis of numbers. For example In GPA system of college, an undergrad who gets 89 will get he same grade as some who gets 81. This standardization ensures efficient feedback.

In conclusion, the tutee should be satisfied of their needs and requirements, This can be achieved in this case, if the schools prepare to meet midway, and deal with children's need for constant motivation. The current arrangement is not flawed, it only needs some changes