Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem?

How could it be solved?

The phenomenon of people not wanting to be evaluated at school or at work has been gaining more and more attention from the public. The following paragraphs will demonstrate what I think is the reason for it as well as propose a potential solution.

To some people, the work they put effort into accomplishing is so meaningful and satisfying as if it is their own child. Obviously, no parents want their kids to be subjected to the criticising eyes of others. A child, or a completed task, represents their pride, their legacy and their hard work, consequently looking down to him is as bad as hurting the ego of the person. Another reason why people do not want their work to be looked into is because they detest gaining negative responses and dislike receiving requests to change.

There is no easy way to clear this problem completely. However, one of the most reasonable solutions can be alternating the evaluating system. Traditionally, we have been giving grades and using the numerical values to reflect on one's work as well as comparing them with others, which causes negative feelings of losing and being outperformed. This can be replaced by a new system which does not concentrate on the extent the work has reached, but the strengths and weaknesses reflected through it. The feedback then may include compliments from bosses or teachers and things that need fixing in the following tasks instead of mere meaningless grades. Not only does this developed method of handing out comments motivate students and employees, but it also encourages them to improve and enhance their work.

To conclude, the pride in the work together with the displeasure of gaining bad reactions and orders of several people can be the reason for them resisting being evaluated. This problem may be solved by establishing a different feedback system concerning good and bad points performed by the task given.