Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The growing presence of advertising from television commercials, radio advertisements to leaflets scattered on the streets is considered a pressing concern in today’s world. It has become apparent that people have various points of view on this trend, whether it offers merits or exerts undesirable impacts on humans’ life. Personally, I am a fervent proponent of the former notion, and in this essay, both arguments will be further examined before my opinions are formulated.

On the one hand, it is often claimed that advertising produces adverse effects to a certain extent. First, advertisements have a tendency to target their marketing strategies at those who are vulnerable and impressionable, especially the young as well as the senior citizens. Thus, the more appealing advertisements appear, the higher chances of the gullible make extravagant purchases there would be. In addition to this, celebrity endorsement is of no unusual trend these days in numerous advertising campaigns for a new product line. Even though this policy undoubtedly increases the sales revenue of the products being promoted and the brand reputation itself, fans of their idols might be lured into buying the goods without any intentions or purposes to make it to good use.

Advertising, despite the select downsides, is convinced to be associated with more compelling benefits, in terms of the economy and education aspects. On an economic scale, companies render advertising the most effective tool to publicize their products, by which means not only potential customers are given access to detailed information about new commodities but the sellers themselves could get their products to the market with ease. Another reason why this is a positive course of action is by virtue of the advertising industry, ambitious youngsters with outstanding creativity are more likely to be offered better job opportunities in such fields. This, as a result, generates a converse general mindset on the value of modern art along with a lower unemployment rate among graduates of the advertising-related studies. On an educational level, recent years have witnessed a plethora of commercials arising, which contain thought-provoking messages of family core values, friendship, and environmental protection. Such advertisements are reported to be absolutely widely-received by audiences of all ages.

In conclusion, although advertising has detrimental influences due to its being manipulative and its employment of famous figures leading to unnecessary purchases, its advantages are inevitably pronounced on the grounds that commercials provide humans with new product depiction, employment, and meaningful underlying messages. Companies; therefore, are recommended to continue creating more informative and educational advertisements as well as considering the potential risks they may pose to a susceptible body of people.