In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses, for example, food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of the world, the popularity of plastic has arisen gradually due to its convenience and low cost. However, some people argue that its terrible impact on the environment is undeniable. Personally, I think that although this trend would introduce both pros and cons, the benefits do not outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is obvious that in practical application, the usefulness of plastic is massive. First to mention, it is economical for restaurants and companies to replace recyclable materials in their products with plastic. For instance, fast food chains have made use of this positive aspect, therefore, these companies can earn more profit. As a result, the customers can also enjoy their food and beverages at a low price. What is more, this substance is compact and lightweight, it will come in handy when people pack for camping, traveling or food deliveries.

On the other hand, we should not underestimate its crucial downside on the environment. Firstly, plastic products need centuries to decompose, eventually, landfills and ocean are filled up and stacked days after days, making the pollution worse. Secondly, the enormous amount of plastic waste dumped into the sea every year often ends up as microplastic, which is then absorbed by animal creatures, causing multiple diseases to them and to seafood consumers. Thirdly, the overproduction of plastic makes the depletion of oil happen faster. Since the transportation industry require huge amount of fossil fuel, this trend is putting the world to a tough challenge.

In conclusion, there are plus points to use plastic merchandises frequently. Nevertheless, it seems to me that the exploitation of this material is threatening lives on Earth severely in long term.