Is the mental strength important for success in sports or is it more important to have strong and fit people in sports. Discuss both views and give opinion.

Opinions differ whether mental or physical strength poses a more tremendous impact on sport players’ performance. Personally, I do think both views are reasonable as each has its own merits.

On the one hand, it is obvious that a player’s spirit can affect a game’s result. In other words, what athletes think and feel while participating in a competition may decide how excellently they can perform. For instance, a sportsperson is often under the pressure of high expectation from the others, therefore causing them to feel anxious and stressed. In term of sport, human’s behaviors and actions are often controlled by their emotion. As a result, should they not have a strong and determined will, they may feel discouraged by various ways and cannot strive for the victory.

On the other hand, the body’s capability also contributes to one’s success. Sports center on people’s movements, agility, dexterity and flexibility. Hence, it is essential that physical strength plays a prominent role in a competition. Take the Vietnamese football team for example, however iron-willed they might be, they could not defeat greater foreign teams like the Britain or Japanese due to the lack of physical quality. Nonetheless, playing sports requires an enormous amount of energy, and thus demands players’ durability for abundant stamina. In addition, most elite athletes are cautious and well-prepared in exercising and eating to build muscle. The reason is that physical toughness helps them avoid injuries during training or competition, or their sporting career would be ruined by injuries. In other words, being in good physical condition ensures their continuity in athletic performance.

In conclusion, sports players have to face both physical and mental difficulties on the field. Therefore, they should be trained to be physically fit and mentally resilient, otherwise, no triumph can be guaranteed for them.