It is stated that having a good mental health is of paramount importance to excel in sports, while others argue that it is more essential for athletes to be physically fit. I believe that both factors play an equal role in promoting the perseverance and agility of sportspeople.

Admittedly, a strong mentality, is vital for athletes to overcome a host of incredibly challenging matters involved in sport. Given the pressure of winning, frequent training of mental toughness would help sport players endure the intensity and stay focused throughout the match. Roger Federer, say, an elite tennis player, has achieved certain level of mental prowess by practicing composure and self-command on a daily basis. This, has allowed him to gain confidence regardless of situations and become one of the world’s calmest athletes. In addition, having a clear state of mind is a game-changer in deciding the outcome of the match, even professional players have been witnessed to underdog their rivals if their resistance and positivity died out. Hence, this is a testament to why strong-willed players are inclined to attain great success.

However, it is imprudent to downplay the significance of physical fitness in playing sports. In fact, physical strength is regarded as the common requirement for sportspeople as they are regularly faced with incredibly challenging physical maneuvers. This, has forced them to boost their brute strength and stamina to win over their opponents. For instance, weightlifting, is a perfect example of the sport which requires athletes to be immensely physically fit to be able to lift several sets of weights. Furthermore, in some sports such as football, it is essential for the players to master their grit to endure a 90-minute match. Thus, being physically strong is one of the crucial factors constituting a seeded player.

In conclusion, I believe that having mental strength and being physically fit are of great in equal measure to succeed in sports as both qualities enable athletes to develop different sets of skills.