In the present age, many regions of the world depend heavily on tourism as a source of revenue while tourism can cause problems providing that it is not properly handled. Although this phenomenon might be disadvantageous to some extent, it would be far more significant.

On the one hand, growing tourism would create employment opportunities for local residents. In order to meet travelers’ demand, local entrepreneurs need to hire a huge amount of employees working in travel agencies, airlines, tour operators, ticketing offices, logistics, and hotel management . These job opportunities substantially help to tackle unemployment problem and contribute to the national economy. To exemplify this point, The Thai tourism industry, ranked in second best tourist destination in Asia, generated 6.2 millions jobs according to the annual report in 2016. It, nowadays, remains one of the most essential sectors for Thailand in achieving economic growth and creating employment. Without developing such industry, there are more workers who could experience unemployment.

Admittedly, on the other hand, travel industry might pose a threat to environmental pollution. Some groups of holidaymakers throw bottles and plastic bags into the environment when traveling, which can have detrimental effects on local residents and wildlife. For example, Phu Quoc Island, known as “pearl island” in VietNam, is facing a trash crisis from a flock of people who lack awareness. However, the government enforces laws to protect the environment such as increasing the fine for throwing garbage. In VietNam, for example, if people discharge garbage in the wrong place, they will be fined up to one million VietNam dong.

In conclusion, for all the aforementioned reasons, I would believe that the positives of tourism outweigh its negatives.