Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone’ life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The development of business in today’s life has led to the increasing presence of advertisements that can be seen everywhere. While many believe that promoting products might bring about various drawbacks, I advocate the idea that advertisements would benefit human life in different ways.

On the one hand, there are some unexpected outcomes resulting from overwhelming advertisements. Firstly, people seem to be manipulated by watching promotions, especially the young, which leads them to purchase dispensable products. For example, under the manipulation of provocative ads, young adults have the tendency to buy new flagship smartphones to follow the trend even though their current devices are still in good condition. Consequently, individual expenses will increase and little budget would be saved for later purposes. Secondly, the broad presence of advertisements might cause annoyance and frustration. Every time people surf the Internet or watch a video on Youtube, an abundance of promoting videos will appear which interrupt their relaxation time.

On the other hand, the surge of advertisements has brought various benefits in terms of society and the economy. Obviously, advertising enables companies to promote their new-released commodities to a larger group of people in order to approach their potential customers. Hence, this would boost up their revenue contributing to the development of the economies of many countries. Besides the impact on the economy, advertisement has positively influenced society as this helps to reduce the ratio of unemployment. There would be more jobs for citizens who love creativity and imagination which is required in the field of advertisement.

In conclusion, although advertising might create undeniable disadvantages, I personally reckon that the benefits it brings about are more significant.