Q14 : Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. What is your opinion?

Recently, the impact of advertising has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that advertising plays a key role in our daily life, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of benefits that can be derived from advertising. Perhaps the principal advantage is that advertising makes it possible for people to access information about newly released products and services in the market with greater ease. Rather than letting a product go unnoticed, it is better to advertise the product so as to enhance its popularity among the masses. In addition, not only does advertising stimulate economic growth, but it also creates a multitude of employment opportunities. To exemplify, research conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that the advertising industry created about 11,000 jobs in the year 2015. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of advertising.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that advertising merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a myriad of companies often exploit ordinary people's vulnerability and susceptibility to the influence of advertising. To be specific, commercials tend to contain exaggerated information and picture-perfect images. Moreover, advertising often results in people buying unnecessary items considering that consumers are more likely to have difficulty realising the disadvantages of products. This is because the majority of businesses have a tendency to conceal the drawbacks of their goods in their advertisements in order to increase their sales. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.