Advertising has become an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

Technology nowadays has made it possible to advertise like never before, as a result we are constantly bombarded with ads all the time. While sometimes we are aware of it, other times we aren’t. Therefore, some people believe that this is having a negative impact on our lives, whereas others argue the opposite. In this essay I will discuss both views and tell you why I believe that the downsides outweigh any potential benefit.

Those who support advertisements do so because of two main reasons. Firstly, it makes it easier for consumers to choose and buy products that they are interested in. Before commercials, people would have to rely on word of mouth but now it’s possible to get all the information about the product in the advertisement. Companies like Facebook and Instagram use algorithms that suggest only those commercials that you’re interested in, which makes it easier to shop. The second reason is that ads can be very entertaining sometimes. In today’s busy and serious world, a small funny clip can be very refreshing, even if it’s trying to sell you something. Indeed some companies rely solely on comedic aspect for the sales of their products, like Cheetos or Cadbury chocolates.

Even though ads can have some upsides, I believe it has more negative impacts on the society. I believe that most of the times we are bombarded with commercials for things that we do not need. The aggressive sales technique cause us to buy useless things which we have no real need for. Ridiculously expensive electronic gadgets and clothing are a good example of this. Secondly, it’s leading to a rise in depression, as we are constantly looking at the products that we can’t afford. This makes us compare ourselves to our peers who have those products and have a negative impact on our mental health.

So in conclusion, although advertisements can have some perceived beneficial impacts, they are very negligible. In my opinion, these non -stop commercials have grave side effects, such are making us waste money and causing depression.