Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We live in an age of innovation. While some of these have made our lives better, others are just a waste of money and time. Some people believe that advertisement for new products makes us purchase those things, whereas others say it doesn’t make much difference. Although I personally agree with the former statement, this essay will discuss both points.

People who refute the effectiveness of advertisement do so because they think that commercials are repetitive and we instinctively ignore them. Firstly, like anything else that’s repeated too much, the adverts loses their appeal. People get bored while watching them and don’t pay attention. This obviously doesn’t help the sales. A study showed that people on average watched five seconds of an old advert before changing stations. Secondly, it’s become our habit to turn to a different channel as soon as we see a commercial. I believe it’s because people deem it to be a waste of their time, even if they don’t have anything else to do. When researchers asked people what was the most annoying aspect of an advertisement, most answered its length.

On the other hand, many are of the opinion that adverts do in fact work, but we don’t seem to realize it. This is mainly because they make good use of human psychology. People who study marketing know that individuals don’t like to be told what to do. So they market products in such a way that doesn’t feel like we are being sold something. Perhaps the recent trend in product placements in movies, like Mercedes in the new Justice League is an evidence of this. Furthermore, the rise in popularity of certain useless products also drives this point home. If you own an expensive smart phone that has all the same features as an economical one, then you have been a victim of predatory marketing tactics, whether you agree or not.

In conclusion, although we all despise adverts, they still affect us. I believe them to be successful because of targeted campaigns and using scientific methods.