"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree.

The current pandemic has taught us many lessons, but none has been clearer than the importance of prevention. We have seen first hand how difficult it is to contain, research and treat new diseases. So, many people say it’s better to prevent illness than cure it. In this essay I will discuss why I agree that prevention is better and why some people oppose it.

In the past, when we didn’t know the importance of hygiene, illnesses used to run rampant in society. There are still some people who believe that sickness can’t be controlled and it’s a punishment from God rather than listen to science. This misconception is especially widespread in poorer underdeveloped nations where religion and superstition are heeded more by the public than scientific knowledge. The recent spike in the cases of Covid-19 in India, fueled by the religious gatherings of the last month in defiance of advice by the doctors further proves this point.

Even though medicine has made huge advancements, prevention is still our best strategy against many diseases. This is because it’s the easiest and economically better option. Firstly, it’s easier for the individual and the healthcare systems to follow preventive strategies such as maintaining hygiene, eating a healthy diet and exercising regularly. On the other hand, once a person is sick, the effort to keep him alive in hospital through expensive medicine, sophisticated equipment and round the clock care by doctors and nurses becomes very difficult. Secondly, prevention is also much more cost effective option. Since hospital admissions and medicine cost money, it’s cheaper to just live a healthier lifestyle. This benefits both the person and the country as is evident by research. A report by US Bureau of Statistics showed that prevention of cardiac diseases would cost about $100 million annually, while treating the same disease would lead to a loss of about $15 billion per annum.

In conclusion, although medicine has made lots of progress, treating a disease should still be our second strategy. In my opinion our main focus should be on prevention as it’s easier and cheaper.