"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

The expenditure behind inventing an optimized treatment option for a disease is cosmic so it is believed that investment in taking preventive measures is a better alternative. This essay also agrees with this belief because preventive measures can be implemented easily and also researching an effective drug treatment is a slow and time-demanding process.

The primary reason why investing in preventive measures makes sense is that they are easily implementable. This is to say that in an emergency like the pandemic of an unknown disease, preventive measures can only become the last resort for controlling the spread of the disease since they emerge after logical discussion by experts for quick implementation. For example, in the recent Covid-19 emergency, people were encouraged globally to wear masks and to follow social distancing, which was effectively implemented by spreading awareness in societies through advertisements via various platforms.

The second main reason why this thought is favourable is that the pharmaceutical research towards inventing a safe and efficacious medicine is a lengthy course. Being in the same field of research, I firmly believe that pharmaceutical companies face many failures on the way to coming up with an effective treatment for any disease. In addition, the money and resources, especially the time, get wasted. No companies, for example, could find out an effective vaccine during the whole first wave of the Covid-19 pandemic and the world had to rely upon the preventive measures only until the first vaccine was introduced by Pfizer during the second wave.

To conclude, I strongly agree with the idea of investing in preventive measures instead of expensive research and treatment to cope up with various ailments because of not only the pharmaceutical research being time-consuming but also the ease of implementing preventive measures.