In many developing countries, there is a problem with the declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

Where industrialization is responsible for bringing prosperity to the developing nations, it’s also leading to a rise in pollution. This is affecting both land and air in those countries. This essay will discuss some of the causes as well as present some steps that could be taken to tackle this problem.

Construction of new factories can have a significant environmental impact due to two main reasons. First of all, developing nations don’t have stricter laws regarding pollution which is exploited by the owners of these companies. In an effort to maximize their profits, they dispose of the hazardous waste into the oceans or landfills without any processing. For instance, Dupont was in the news lately for dumping harmful chemicals in the river in Mexico that lead to a catastrophic impact on the marine life there. Secondly, citizens of developing nations often aren’t fully aware of the effect that their habits have on the climate. There isn’t enough recycling or limitations on use of harmful herbicides, which obviously exacerbates this problem. Nations like Bolivia were using chlorofluorocarbons until recently as pesticides, which was banned a decade ago by the UN.

There are some measures that could be taken to off set the above mentioned environmental damage. Firstly, introduction and implementation of new laws regarding climate change similar to those that are in effect in the developed countries. These should address the damage being done by pollution to land, air and water bodies. If done correctly, this can be very helpful. Take the example of China, once it had the worst air quality in the world, but now it’s leading UN in the fight against climate change. Secondly, there should be a massive drive to educate people about the impact that their daily routine has on the environment. They should be encouraged to buy enough for their needs and drive only if necessary, as excessive consumerism is the root of most of our problems today. A recent survey by Galop showed that cities where people drove less had better air quality.

In conclusion, although industrialization is important, it should be done responsibly. In my view, developing countries should adapt stricter laws and educate their people, if they want to help improve their environment.