In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

With the advent of industrialisation, numerous industries have taken birth in different parts of the world. These are the major indicators of development and economic growth.

However, there are some detrimental effects to the environment especially to air and water that come along with this growth. This essay aims to discuss some of causes and remedies to its ill effects.

One of key causes of the damage to water is that manufacturing units release a lot of untreated waste into the natural water sources. This waste contains a lot of chemicals that is fatal for the underwater habitat and in a long run can lead to an imbalance in marine ecosystem. For example, the liquid released by paint manufacturing industry has compounds like acetone, which effect the pH levels of waters, making them more acidic in nature. Likewise, the effects on air is similar, where companies release large amounts of smoke into the atmosphere that contain harmful gases like methane and ethane. This has direct effect on all the animals and birds as every living creature on land needs air to survive. Additionally, there is a lack of stringent rules and regulations against such kind of industries due to which there is a lack of heed.

Although, there are a few possible solutions that can help prevent this problem. First and foremost, government should develop a set of precautionary measures that every industry and construction sites should follow. If there is a sign of negligence, then strict actions should be enforced. Additionally, all the industries that have a potential to cause any kind of harm to air or water resources should equip themselves with an in-house treatment plant that will purify the water and gases before releasing them back into the nature.

In conclusion, there are both objective and subjective reasons for this declining quality, the most sensible solution is adhere to practises that cause less adverse effects on the environment.