Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? (May 2021)

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that nowadays students like to take a break between their school and university and indulge themselves in some kind of work. Some people believe that there is an upside to it due to various reasons while others are of the opine that this might be bad for one’s career. This essay will discuss both of these perspectives in depth.

To commence with positives, one of the key benefit of working after school is the real world experience that cannot be taught in any educational instututions. Similarly, it can help them expand their horizon and explore different career options. This can also serve them time to work on their interests and give a chance to test if their interest can be converted to a full time career. For instance, if a pupil wants to build a business in tech industry, then they could go and work for one of startups and see for themselves how things work, what are the struggles that goes in to make all of it happen. This helps them to pave their path in the right direction. Additionally, this is great option when students would want to earn some bucks and support some fraction of their university fee.

Despite the advantages, there is a downside to it. There is high possibility that students waste their precious time in menial jobs which may not be a great add on to their profile. The kind of work may not necessarily overlap with their life goals. For instance, if a child wants to pursue a career in law and order, but works as an assistant to a music teacher, then it does not good. As the both the line of work are completely different. This doesn’t mean that student doesn’t pursue music ever in their life, but opting for such job in this break is not right. Additionally, the minute students start earning money, they become distracted and might become lazy to go back to study.

In conclusion, there are merits and demerits to this practise. It seems like a good idea to spend some time in work, but it would be great if they take advice from their parents or counsellors on the same and work on it.