Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many students nowadays opt to take a break after finishing their school to either work or travel instead of directly going to a university to continue their studies. While there are certain advantages to it such as financial independence, there are some demerits as well. Lagging behind among friends and difficulties faced in getting back to study curriculum are few of them. This essay will discuss both these views and will also present why I think taking a break after high school can be a step in the right direction.

A gap between university and high school allows a student to grow as an individual. For example, a student may take up part-time jobs to become financially independent or choose to travel and explore various cultures and meet people from different backgrounds. This helps a student grow as an individual, enabling them to expand their thoughts and opinions. This holistic growth can be very beneficial for a young adult and taking a break after high school gives them the freedom and flexibility to achieve the same.

However, this gap comes with its own set of disadvantages. For example, this break may cause a person to lag behind academically among his/her peers. This can make the student feel left behind and may result in some mental discomfort. Also, getting back to studies after such an extensive break is also not easy, as it can take some time and effort to adjust to the study curriculum.

In my opinion, taking a break right after high school for work or travel is a step in the right direction. Although,I think one should decide to do so according to his/her circumstances as it would not make sense for a student in financial debt to continue studying rather than taking a break to ease out the financial burden.

In the end, I can confidently say that the advantages of such a decision far outweigh the disadvantages. If a student can, he/she definitely should take a break after school , only to come back to studies as a better and more mature person with an evolved perspective towards life.