Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The climate change has become a very controversial topic in the past few decades. While no one disagrees about its dangers, there’s no consensus on how to tackle it. Some believe it should be dealt with at a global level whereas others think it should be sorted out independently by each nation. This essay will look at both of these arguments and explain why I strongly believe with the earlier statement.

The proponents of solving this at a national scale say that it’s easiest way. Trying to implement new environmental policies at a local level is easier, as it basically requires a single order from a court or a parliament. Even though it’s easier, there is no expert input and hence the policies created aren’t up to the mark. Take a look at the Brazil, as it struggles with the deforestation because people there have found numerous loop holes in their local laws aimed at tackling climate change.

Because environmental issues don’t care for man-made boundaries, no effort will be successful to counter it if it isn’t global. First of all, concentrated efforts by all the states will yield a better result than any lone action taken by a single country. Addressing this issue requires scientific knowledge, sophisticated equipment and of course monetary funds. Hence a united struggle will be far superior, as was concluded by UN 2 years ago in Paris meeting. Secondly, all countries aren’t prepared equally to fight this challenge. Some have more resources than others and this can lead to further problems rather than solving one. So in a united struggle, wealthier countries will be able to share money and other resources with less fortunate nations. This will help us address climate change issue more effectively. This was also confirmed by the WHO report that looked into this matter in 2015.

In conclusion, although a local effort may be easier, it’s not going to work. I strongly believe that we need a global mechanism because this issue requires a concentrated effort and sharing of resources.