Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that advertisements are becoming increasingly common in our daily life. Some people argue that they are everywhere that we should not pay attention to them any more, but I maintain that advertising does play a significant role in our decision-making when shopping and we can't avoid it completely.

On the one hand, some people support the viewpoit that advertising succeeds in talking people into making purchases. The overriding reason for it is that some advertisements contain useful information which is largely decisive when people happen to need to buy these certain items. Some basic attributes such as prices, sizes, functions can be known and taken into consideration by people through these posters or flyers, which contributes a lot to making wise decisions. Additionally, as an imperative marketing tool for merchants, these advertisements are made attractive and vivid to catch people's attention, and sometimes even be represented by celeberities, making rather more people would buy them.

On the other hand, there are also thoughts in favor of not paying attention to advertising any more since it is such a common phenomenon. In today's consumer society, materialism has been even popular than ever before, and merchants use every method to persuade citizens to spend money on their products to earn more incomes. Spreading their advertisements and broadcasting their advertising programmes has been the most common measure. For instance, whether we are watching television, using a certain app or browsing some websites, some pop-up flyers are inevitable, bringnig poor user experience and spoil our moods, especially these are things we don't need. As a solution, we should just ignore them and close them.

From my perspective, there is no deny that advertisements are becomming more and more common, even sometimes make people annoying, but they do provide some useful information which can heip us make reasonable decisions. No longer paying attention might lead us to poor-informed. What we should do is to utilize them when we need and ignore them when we don't need.