Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible.

To what extent do you agree with this?

My own country, Australia, has a long and rich agricultural history, and in that time, fairly stringent ‘tariff walls’ were often erected* to protect local industry and domestic food production. Whilst they are politically appealing, I nevertheless hold the view that such systems are unnecessary and ill-advised.

My main objection is that tariffs foster inefficient and uncompetitive farming practices, which are ultimately unsustainable. When farmers can rest complacently* in the assurance that foreign foodstuffs are excluded from the market, they have no incentive to streamline their own production. This inevitably leads to a bloated* and sluggish* industry, lagging behind other countries. A prime example is the heavily subsidised* British coalmining industry of the mid-1980s. Despite great public turmoil, this was eventually rationalised* by the then Prime Minister, Thatcher, in a bitter campaign, but one which history has long since vindicated.*

Another reason against agricultural tariffs is their unfairness to consumers, who must indirectly pay for this system. Tariffs are governmental decisions, usually in response to lobby* groups with political clout.* Yet farmers are not a privileged* breed, and however much their industry might resonate* with culture, history, or heritage,* they should be as much at the mercy of market forces as others. If Brazilian oranges, for example, can be purchased more cheaply, shoppers have the right to this access,* and prohibiting this is just blatantly* undemocratic.

Farmers, in particular, would argue that tariffs make local production viable, thus guaranteeing food security in unstable times. However, this argument is glib* and unconvincing. In a globalised world, gridded with efficient networks of trade and transportation, nations with paying markets can always secure* commodities from others, irrespective* of distance. My wife, for example, has purchased cherries from Chile, and online at that; the goods find their way to reach us with a mouse-click’s convenience, which illustrates a reality that all, including farmers, must accept.

For all these reasons, the agricultural industry should not be benefited by tariffs.