Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basic. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time.

It is true that there are few people who can keep the habit of walking regularly. this problem results from several reasons and they should be tackled by individuals as well as the governments.

The amount of time for daily walking has decreased due to two main reasons. The first reason cause is the development of technology with the appearance of lifts and escalators everywhere, especially in offices or shopping centers. In spite of convenience and time-saving benefits, this also encourages laziness when someone, for example, even uses the lift to move between two floors. The second reason is the overuse of private vehicles such as cars and motorbikes, which has discouraged people in walking, even for a short distance. In fact, parents tend to take their children to school by cars although their houses near the school gates for the fear of busy roads.

Measures must be taken by governments and each individual to solve the this serious problem issue. first, regulations should be imposed to restrict the unnecessary use of lifts in low-rise buildings and encourage the usage of stairs. With the sense of restrictions, apparently, there would be more people who are willing to walk some physical stairs instead of troubling themselves with automatic ones. For instance, at some hospitals in Vietnam, except for patients and medical personnel, users need to pay a certain amount of money to utilise the elevators, and this policy has resulted in an increasing number of people climbing stairs and also saved the facility for emergency purposes. Secondly, cars should be discouraged in short-distance journeys and people should go on foot instead. For instance, parents can walk with their children to go to school every morning.

In conclusion, the issue that only a few people take up walking as a part of their daily life results from several reasons, but if governments and individuals take appropriate steps immediately, this problem may be implemented solved soon.