Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basic. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In modern life, many people have lost their habit of walking regularly. There are some reasons for this tendency, and several actions need to be taken to motivate citizens to spend more time on walking.

To begin with, there are several reasons why fewer people walk regularly these days. The first reason is that the development of technology has facilitated the way people move. Instead of walking which takes much time and effort, many people prefer to travel by their cars or motorbikes which are far more convenient. Even within a certain building, people do not need to walk much because escalators and lifts are usually available to help them move up and down easily. In addition, the sedentary lifestyle of many people these days caused by huge pressure at work or school. Some people have to work until late night every day without having the time to walk or work out.

Some measures can be implemented to encourage people to walk more often. First, no-stopping zones ought to be established in some crowded places, which will dissuade citizens from using their cars unnecessarily. For example, if no-stopping zones are located in the vicinity of schools, parents who accompany children to school would become accustomed to the habit of a daily walk. Second, in low-rise buildings, the use of stairs should be obligatory, with a lift only for disabled people. Final, pedestrianization in some bustling areas in cities also an effective method, especially if these pedestrian-only zones are covered by many trees, people are attracted to walk in these green areas.

In conclusion, some reasons why people are walking less regularly can be identified, and some simple solutions should be adopted to encourage them to walk more frequently.