Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In this contemporary life, many individuals are losing their habit of walking. While there a variety of reasons for this tendency, some measurements have been put in place to encourage dwellers to spend more time to go on foot.

In my perspective, there are two main reasons why recent residents do not walk frequently in daily life. Firstly, the development of technologies has restricted citizens to spend less time to walk. Elevator and lift have appeared all over the world from small town to big cities, especially in shopping malls and office buildings. We have to admit that these equipment are, absolutely, so convenient and time-saving though they have become reasons for laziness. Secondly, it belongs to a part of modern lifestyle, car is the most popular vehicles people travel every day, not only for business but also for personal reasons without the consideration about the distance. For example, latter-day parents often pick up their children in front of school gates by car, even when school is near their houses. In some aspects, these things can be understood, especially when the way from home to schools need to pass through many crowded towns, and the youth can not to it by themselves if their parents do not want to guide them how.

To encourage inhabitants to walk more regularly, some solutions have conducted. In some low buildings, it is compulsory to use stairs, just only one lift for the disabled. In order to limit the number of unnecessary cars, authorities should establish a no parking area around schools. If children become familiar with the routine of walking to school day by day, their parents have responsibilities for being with them. Thus, family will get used to walking exercises. One more solution is to upgrade pedestrian sidewalks and set up more walking street for only footsloggers in the central heart of the cities. Streets with a lot of green trees around can curb the amount of rain and sunlight for walkers.

To sum up, we can find out what the reasons why individuals walk less, and some simple measurement should be given to improve people's awareness about what benefit walking can bring to our health and community. Civil should go on their walk instead of using modern transportation.