Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by

tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done

to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that the number of global tourists comes to visit historical destinations as well as museums higher than local residents. While these problems stemming from many causes, it can be improved by attracting individuals of the host country through practical actions.

There are two main reasons why foreign tourists spend more love for museums and historical monuments than local ones. The first reason is museums are too familiar with its community. If authorities do not want to change museum appearance by a new way to stimulate residents' curiosity, their presidents can not see anything new to discover. Just like when they eat a dish every day, they will feel boring when they need to visit a whole old place without changes. Moreover, the ticket fee of rhapsodic sites is too expensive to residents, they can not pay for this. For example, in some rural areas, earning a living is very difficult so local people, absolutely, do not want to waste their money for this activity. Thus, they have never had a chance to visit historical museums.

Mentioning about the solutions, local authorities should put some effective measurements in place to deal with these issues. Firstly, museums must be invested more by authorities in order to change its appearance and exhibits. To be more specific, it needs to vary the way how museums are running. Secondly, historical places must be opened free for not only tourists but also local inhabitants to raise their awareness about their history.

To sum up, there are a variety of reasons for this tendency. However, welcoming more visitors to museums and historical sites is the responsibility of local authorities.