Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

Along with the ever innovation in technology, filmmaking is no longer exclusive to giant company any more since individuals and small companies can make considerable contribution to this section too. From my perspective, this trend bears both merits and demerits.

It is widely regard that the advancement of Internet and digital technology has brought more opportunities to those apart from major companies. First and foremost, with the introduction of smartphones, computers, personal digital cameras and editing apps, it is no longer necessary for film-maker to have high budget and a big crew to produce a film. Even in some cases, a smartphone is the only thing required to shoot and edit videos since technologies has enable them to captured high-quality scenes and the availability of free video-sharing platform such as Youtube and Facebook, resulted in easier accessible for many young and amateur film-makers.

Moreover, as it is getting more feasible for people to make films, a lengthy process commonly seen in big film productions, from submitting the script to getting approval from the producers and the sponsors, could be avoided. As a result, more movie plots, even those that have been previously rejected by major film productions, can be made into production and featured to the general public.It is not to mentioned that the explosion of individual film makers lay strong emphasis on film’s artistic and content aspects rather than making profits. Such growth in independent films not only can offers diverse choices and original content to film-watchers but also promote the development of cinematography.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that the lack of strict regulations in individual film-making process has resulted in low-quality films with inappropriate contents such as: violence, religious bias, unauthentic information which will have a detrimental effects on viewers, especially children as these films are easily accessed through the Internet.

In conclusion, the inclusive of small business and individuals in the film industry along with major company have both advantages and drawbacks.