Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a heated debate among those take side with newspapers as the dominant way to keep track of news and the others who hold the belief that media platforms is more superior in terms of staying updated. From my personal perspective, both methods bear theirs own merits and I will further elaborate in this essay.

Long before the existence of the Internet is the dominance of newspaper that people rely on to stay informed. That is the reason why most senior citizens considered conventional newspaper as their top priority when it comes to keeping up to date with currents affairs. Moreover, it is newspaper that is widely recognized as a reliable and authentic source of information since it is daily issued under the supervision of an editorial office. Hence, the content can be thoroughly checked, edited and censored prior to publication. To cite an example, the elderly can enjoy a cup of coffee and peruse their favourite column in the early morning without having to worry about its veracity, compared to news on other social platforms.

On the flip side, we are all acknowledged that social media and the Internet have surpassed newspaper in the last decade as the most popular site to stay updated. First and foremost, the constant development of technology and the invent of smartphone has given us easier accessibility to news. Within a portable device, readers can catch up with up-to-the-minute information at a press of a button. Secondly, e-news are now providing their readers with vivid illustrations and lively sound effects thanks to the incorporation of videos. As a consequence, not only normal people will have better experience but the disabled are also given the ability to keep up with the latest events.

In a nutshell, both types of channel have its own pros and cons and the combination of the two platforms would be the most advantageous for readership.