Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that traditional newspapers are the optimal source to get news, however, others acknowledge that it is better to learn from other media. In this essay, I will scrutinize both views before concluding that I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people think that conventional newspapers are the most effective method to get news. The primary rationale is that the information contained was written by journalists, which was cross-checked or carefully edited. This means this kind of media is a trustworthy source of news and can effectively impart information to the general public. Nowadays, when fake news is rampant because of the spread of social media such as Facebook, people, especially teenagers, are often susceptible to misinformation. Consequently, people could have distorted perceptions about current affairs. In this case, it is justifiable to learn news from newspapers.

On the other hand, I side with those who say that news could be obtained not only from newspapers but also from other media. Firstly, advancement in technology has facilitated the development of digital journalism, where news undergoes vigorous checks before being published. Moreover, while reading conventional newspapers makes readers purchase money everyday to get news, digital journalism offers a one-time investment for accessing to information and this source of information is of no less dependability compared to that from traditional newspapers. In addition to this, digital newspapers are better than their conventional counterparts in term of real-time updates. Don’t need traditional production processes, when writing is finished, journalists promptly update their articles on websites so that the general public can access the information.

In conclusion, while there is justification that traditional newspapers are the foremost method to get news, I would contend that there are many trustworthy sources such as digital journalism where everyone could access the news more easily.