As housing is a basis need, some people believe that the government should provide the free housing for people who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that residents having low income should be given complimentary accommodation, which is considered as a fundamental demand of residents. by the government. In this essay, I would argue that this idea could give rise to several issues which may impact the general growth of the countries.

There are many reasons leading to this idea. Firstly, providing the poor with free housing can allow to create a stable home environment. This is because that if residence could be fulfilled the basic needs including housing, a noticeable decrease in the crime rate would be occurred and the public health would be also empowered. As a result, the burden on public services such as accommodation or healthcare, might be no longer put on the authorities. Secondly, the proponents of this idea could also argue that because the governments derive the authority and national budget from the public, the honors is on the governments to supply no charge accommodation for dwellers. Finland could be a good example for this case. Particularly the government of this nation has introduced several ethical housing policies, which could be an attributing factor to a decrease in the rate of homelessness.

However, funding such projects could take a toll on the countries in many aspects. If the authorities put more resources into housing policies, the diversion of resources from other critical sectors and a significant increase in taxes are necessary. Thus, this could hamper the economic growth and place more financial burden on working residents. In addition, providing complementary housing, could be a culprit behind the decline in the proportions of unemployment. There is the fact that residence living under the property line could be disincentivized for work because they would be always received a free net regardless their economic status. Therefore, an economic stagnation of a country could be on a horizon.

To conclude, the idea of supplying the vulnerable residents with free housing is still questionable at best due to aforementioned rationales.