Financial education should be a mandatory subject in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a lot of mandatory units in a school curriculum, such as Mathematics, English, Science, and other common subjects. Financial education is a kind of literacy program that is not included in the conventional syllabus but should be compulsory as early as secondary school. I totally agree with this because we as individuals should be financially independent and are knowledgeable on how to handle are money responsibly. In this essay, I will discuss why it is important to include this subject on our curriculum.

Financial education is a broad subject; it teaches proper management of our income, how to prepare for our future, and how to choose the right investment based on our needs. Because of these, it is imperative that it is taught in our schools. First reason for this is that once we stopped receiving financial help from our parents or received our own salary, we tend to treat ourselves lavishly without thinking of how much we're spending or if we have anything left. One example is buying the latest cellphone that we can't afford even though the one we are using is still useable, which may put us in debt. Being financially literate could prevent us from doing such things. Second, if we are trained properly on this subject, we know how to properly budget our money. we may keep the 20% as emergency fund, 10% as tithe, 15% for bills, or any division of our wage accordingly. Third, we'll be properly informed of different investments that may help us in the future, namely healthcare, life plans, and educational plans for our children.

In conclusion, I believed that it is vital that we are educated on this subject as early as we were taught on subject like science. I further admit that it is more easier than science.