Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity level accordingly. Why is this the case?

What measure can you suggest to encourage higher level of activity among children?

Children these days have lesser activities compare to those in the past, mostly because of watching television most of the time. However, there are other factors that may contribute to this.

The televisions we are using nowadays are nothing like the ones our elders were using decades ago. televisions in this era can be used to access the internet where children can watch Youtube, cartoons, and animes. The graphics and animations they are using today are way more advance, colorful, and realistic than the old ones, which in turn makes them more appealing to the children. In addition to this, we can attach different equipments to the television, like xbox, playstations, and wii where children can play using larger screens. Moreover, aside from televisions, there are other things that can be used like laptops and tablets. All of these lead to the problem of children having less physical activities.

There are measures, however, that older people especially the parents, can implement to encourage their children to be more physically active. First, they can make a small playground outside their homes if they have the space. Back when I was young, we have a lot of street games that we used to play, which include patintero, chinese garter, agawan-base, piko, and tumbang preso. I don't know if other countries have them as well but they were basically games that made us run for hours. there are also other known sports like basketball, volleyball, and badminton. Second, parents can encourage their children to help them in cooking or baking. These may not only boost their personal relationship with their children but also rouse their children's hidden talents and artistry. Third, I think having a pet helps a lot. Dogs for example, are restless and active creatures by nature, that youngsters can mimic naturally.

In conclusion, I think there's a balance for everything. televisions may have a lot of advantages but they may also cause a concern for the children's health. It is up to the elders to encourage the young to have more physical activities and not let them stay in front of televisions for too long.