Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Online courses have been taught in some universities as alternative to traditional classes for a while now. Although it has some negative effects, I believed that it is a positive development from conventional methods of learning.

First, studying online can give a student a flexible time. Unlike conventional classes where we have to follow a strict schedule, classes that are offered online are adjustable depending on our time. This can be good for working students as they can opt to take their courses after their work time. Second, there is no need for a personal appearance during a study session which means that we can attend wherever we are. There are some courses that are only taught in some universities that could mean that a student should transfer to a place near that school or just give up the course. Through online courses though, this will not be a problem as we can take the course even if we're abroad. Third, as some institutions offer online classes, they can minimize the number of students in a coming in and out of campuses, thus reducing other expenses, such as food allowance on cafeteria and water bills, as well.

However, there are some drawbacks to this method. Classes taught online are often low in quality than traditional classes and may lack credentials from accrediting agencies like the Department of Education. Moreover, inadequacy of required equipment like computers, high internet bandwidth, and relevant technical skills of both the teacher and student may hamper the success of online studying. What is more, there is little or no interaction at all in this type of learning.

In conclusion, online learning is a huge development from our traditional learning methods and may be more beneficial in the future if some of its flaws will be eliminated or at least, reduced.