Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.
Do you think this is a positive or negative development?
In many universities, distance learning through an online platform is provided for students as an option
to replace traditional classrooms. In my view, although such a development could be detrimental in a
number of ways, overall, I believe it to be an essential step forward.
On the one hand, this method of remote learning, without the need for regular face-to-face contact
with teachers in a classroom, is negative for two reasons. Firstly, students who study online do not
develop comprehensively in the way that other students who attend classes at school do. During online
courses, it is difficult for students to make friends or attempt to compete with their peers. This is often
linked to the fact that those learners seem to undervalue the significance of interaction and rivalry with
classmates in an educational environment, which are actually regarded as great stimuli for scholastic
success. Secondly, participants of online learning programs have a tendency to procrastinate more and
poorly allocate an appropriate amount of time to complete assignments. This form of studying
requires tremendous self-discipline as well as excellent organization and time management skills as
students usually struggle with balancing their coursework with other priorities, and quickly become
unmotivated without direct guidance from instructors.
On the other hand, online learning is proving to be a great alternative, although traditional universities
are still widely considered as the best way to acquire knowledge and a qualification. Access to all
resources within a traditional course is offered, which empowers learners to freely choose from a wide
range of different subjects, from science to economics. Furthermore, lower costs and the widespread
presence of the Internet allow unlimited numbers of participants, regardless of not only their financial
background but also current living location. For example, Coursera is a website that offers a variety of
courses at reasonable prices and presents valid certification for participants upon completion of each
course.
In conclusion, though there are some drawbacks to studying via online courses, I do believe that this
method is a revolutionary step in contemporary tertiary education systems.