Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It has been proposed that higher entrance fees to sites of great cultural and historical importance should be applied on non-nationals. My firm conviction is that this will discourage overseas visitors from coming and thus, I have to largely disagree with the given statement.

The standard justification for the two-tier costing is that operating these sites chiefly relies on state funding, to which local residents already contribute by paying their taxes. However, I believe this is a short-sighted view. It should be acknowledged that foreign tourists also make great financial contributions, via their spendings on a wide range of products and services, including food, souvenirs and guided tours. Therefore, governments and inhabitants in every nation should gladly subsidise international visitors to their important landmarks.

The success of the tourism industry is inextricably linked to the number of visitors and their levels of satisfaction in their visits. If tourists realized that they would have to pay more to enter certain attractions in a nation, it is likely that they would stop paying a visit to the sites. To take an example, culturally important sites such as the temple of literature or remains of the imperial kingdom are the cornerstone of tourism in Vietnam. In these places, the same price is charged, regardless of nationality and this helps to ensure a stable number of foreign sight-seers. Should foreign tourists stop visiting due to uneven treatment, it could pose the problem of insufficient funding to maintain these significant constructions.

In conclusion, I take the view that it would be counterproductive to make international tourists pay higher admission fees than do locals.