Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continuous assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that final examinations are the only means to assess a student’s performance and by comparison, continuous assessment cannot produce desired results. While I fully believe that the former is one of few other ways to test their progress, latter could be more productive.

Although conventional exams have been exercised in the human history for long time, one of the drawbacks is its method of judging test takers’ knowledge. A test, by definition, is intended to measure individual’s knowledge on a specific subject. Sadly, exams are structured in a way that students can memorize information and regurgitate it onto exam papers without need of understanding what they are learning. Stealth assessments, by contrast, are another way of evaluating students which assesses their knowledge over a small amount of time such as a semester rather than one time test. A semester enables them to learn a subject in smaller units, providing enough time to understand and learn.

It is argued that continuous assessment is not an effective way to assess students‘ progress. However their reasons are groundless. Admittedly, some test takers do not perform well in exams even though they are far better than their peers. While conventional exams do not take this factor into consideration, continuous assessment put emphasis on working closely with pupils in order to provide overall assistance. Furthermore, teachers can spot their weak points at an early stage and meanwhile pupils can put more efforts on their weaknesses. Overall, this approach ensures that students are equipped with desired knowledge.

In conclusion, final examinations are not the only efficient means to find out where students stand in terms of their progress. Stealth assessments are one of the other ways to do this. Likewise, continuous assessment can also provide efficient results.