Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sponsorship of sports is becoming increasingly popular. Some people believe that it is beneficial for sports as it not only financially supports sports bodies but companies also get the opportunity to promote their goods to larger audience, whereas others argue that this development is disadvantageous as companies’ investment may go in vain. I agree with the former view.

On the one hand, this development brings financial support to the sports teams. With the help of those funds teams can be provided with better infrastructure and facilities. Therefore, players can train and improve themselves properly. For example, brands like ‘coca cola’ sponsor local cricket tournaments or teams in india and the money they bring in, is capitalized to provide playing kits for players and to maintain playgrounds. Furthermore, sponsored teams or players advertises company’s name or logo internationally while playing the sport. Consequently, this leads to an increase in the popularity and awareness of the brand. Hence, sponsorship is advantageous for both companies and sports.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of this development. Sometimes because investing too much money in sports bodies, companies experience money loses. For instance, BMW, a Germen automobile company, sponsored national boat race team but that team did not even qualify for the Olympics and that resulted in loss of 20 million pounds in 2017. Therefore, it is undeniable that in sports performing good or bad, is part of the game. Due to that sometimes companies do face financial loses.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the sponsorship of sports bring several benefits to sports bodies ranging from providing infrastructure and facilities, to promoting brands to large number of audience. In the future, sponsorships are expected to play a significant role in the development of sports and marketing techniques.