Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that formal written examinations are the optimal tool for assessment university-goers’ ability and understanding about subjects, and that other forms of evaluation, such as projects and coursework cannot offer the right description. Personally, I completely disagree with this view.

On the one hand, formal tests consistently fail to gauge a student’s ability. They are well known to test the capability of cramming and revising rather than true understanding about a subject. Since a great number of tests are often recycled, exams have become relatively predictable, and students, therefore, can be well prepared for what are likely to come up on the test day. As a result, a student, who is either exam-wise or good at predicting, can idle a year and then learn for his exam in a few days. Moreover, these exams are notoriously rigid by nature, which fail to appreciate the one’s flexibility in the understanding about the course, but only see how she or he could solve textbook problems.

On the other hand, it is wrong to underestimate the roles of projects and coursework play in evaluation. Firstly, coursework is a fairer tool to ensure the right assessment for those who perform consistently well during the course of the year but fail to do so when sitting in the exam rooms due to anxiety or pressure. This can help to compensate for the drawback of formal exams that favour short-time memory and rote-learning, and force all students to work hard throughout the entire year. Secondly, a university-goer’s ability should extend beyond academic achievements, rendering other important soft skills with a fairer share in the evaluation process for the sake of a more well-rounded individual. For that reason, projects performed in teams are an efficient way in which students’ social skills, along with the capability to incorporate theoretical knowledge into real-life circumstances, are observed and evaluated by their instructors.

In conclusion, I believe that formal exams are insufficient to give the right picture of a student’s ability, and that other measures of evaluations should be included to thoroughly review how a student performs.