Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music, film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no public or government restrictions on what they do.

It is argued that artists such as painters, writers and music composers should be totally free in their artistic expression and, therefore, that their works should not be the subject to governmetal control. Personally, I cannot agree with this statement.

It is true that, to a certain extent, artists should feel free to present what is on their mind through artworks. Under some undemocratic regimes, artists are often find themselves under the pressure to produce pieces of art that endorse certain religions, faiths or political parties. These products, as a result, are not real art since they are interfered by the interest of minority groups. Moreover, when producing under such circumstances, artists often cannot make use of their potential, which makes them fail to bring masterpieces to life.

However, there are reasonable arguments for restrictions on art production from the authority. Firstly, if left to their own devices, artists, including amateur and professional ones, could create works that have a harmful impact on the public’ perspectives and ideas. For example, pornographic images and violent videos would be given free rein to be on the market, which would wreak havocs on the mental development of the young. Another example would be songs or films conveying incitement to racial hatred or objectifying women, which could make the world become a worse, violent place to live. Governmental censorship and regulation are, therefore, necessary to protect the public from insidious materials and to maintain order in society.

In conclusion, I believe that the government should not interfere with the process of producing art. However, the end results of any artist should be cautiously reviewed for the sake of the public’s well-being.