Some people argue that because the Internet makes it so easy for children to access facts, schools should not focus on teaching facts. Instead, they should focus on developing children’s skills and potential, and their relationships with other people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Thanks to the advancement of technology and the Internet, it has become easier than ever to gain access to factua information. Therefore, many believe that teaching facts is no longer relevant and necessary in school’s cirriculums, and that there should be a shift towards developing skill sets and capabilities of students. Personally, I partly disagree with this view.

On the hand, there are resonable arguments why skills and potentials of a student should be a new focus. Firstly, almost everyone can afford online resources, rendering teaching factual knowledge unnecessary. Therefore, instead of presenting students facts that they could be self-taught, more importance should be given to boosting personal developments in terms of skills, talents and interpersonal capabilities, which have more practical use for students when they enter the labor market. For instance, data analyzing and sorting courses could probably be more beneficial than purely fact presenting classes.

However, if facts learning become inconsequential in school, there will be some possible drawbacks. If left to their own devices, students could leave out many important pieces of information, or, even worse, they might completely neglect fact-related subjects. For example, if some historical events and landmarks, which are as important as building skills, are the subject to retraction in school’s curriculum, students may not volunteerily do research on their own. This would make them in the dark about such fundamental information, leaving an unimaginable consequences on children’s overall development later in life. As a result, along with skills and personal skills being the new highlight, facts teaching should maintain its key role in the education system.

In conclusion, in the informations era, I believe factual subjects should be given equal importance as potential and skills building.