Some people argue that because the Internet makes it so easy for children to access facts, schools should not focus on teaching facts. Instead, they should focus on developing children’s skills and potential, and their relationships with other people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Due to the rapid advancement of technology, every piece of information becomes accessible via the Internet. Therefore, some people are of the opinion that schools should move away from fact-based teaching towards work on skills and relationship building. While I agree that schools should not focus on teaching about facts only, I believe they are still the indispensable foundation for education.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why developing skills and relationships should be a new focus besides mandatory subjects. This is because learning from the Internet offers students valuable information on different subjects. Students can therefore approach lessons on diverse kinds of subjects on the website, as well as on Youtube free of charge. As a result, many children have the capacity to study fact-related subjects by themselves through the easily accessible method of teaching. Furthermore, instead of presenting students facts that could be self-taught, more importance should be given to boosting personal development in terms of skills, talents, and interpersonal capabilities. which have a more practical use for their career in the future.

However, if fact learning becomes inconsequential in schools. there will be some possible drawbacks. If learners do their own online fact-finding research, they could leave out many important pieces of information. This could have an adverse impact on students’ understanding of the concepts learned and their performance at school. Added to this is the fact that some students may also lack the motivation and element of competition that conventional lectures bring.

In conclusion, while learning from the Internet can be practical to a degree, providing students with factual knowledge at schools is still of great necessity due to its practicality in the long run. For that reason, I believe that along with personal skills and relationship development. being the new highlight, fact-based teaching should remain its key role in the education system.