Some people believe that the range of technology available to individuals is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think this has an opposite effect. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

While many people believe that technology advancements have narrowed the gap between rich and poor, others argue that these developments have further pushed them away from each other. I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, technological progress has widened the rich-poor gap. With the advent of automation, the poor and unskilled workers are being replaced by robotics, leaving them struggling to make a living. By contrast, the rich, business owners, in particular, enjoy higher productivity brought by automated machines, and, therefore, make more profits. Automation, as a result, pushes the affluent further towards prosperity and, at the same time, drives the poor to even greater despair by depriving them of their livelihood.

On the other hand, the availability of smartphones and the Internet have helped connect people in an unprecedented way. People, nowadays, irrespective of their economic grounds, could discuss a topic of common concern via social media such as Facebook or Twitter. These types of conversations are not likely to happen in the past since people are restricted to their roles as bosses and staff, or as customers and service-givers, leaving them little space to freely express their views about the world. Moreover, the Internet has offered everyone instant access to online information, which further promotes equality between the rich and the poor. For example, a poor person can read online news from the BBC or the guardian, which makes him as knowledgeable and well-informed as those who have money.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the proliferation of technology brings both positive and negative impact on the gap between rich and poor.