The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the most effective solution to environmental pollution around the world is to lift the price of fuel. I can only partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, raising the cost of fuel can have a direct impact on the demand for fuel consumption. From a consumer’s perspective, when fuel is less of an affordable commodity, the motive to drive and use fuel-powered engines in households would be weakened. As a result, less carbon dioxide emissions would be released into the atmosphere, and, at the same time, people will search for other types of energy, most of which available are less detrimental to the environment compared to fossil fuel. The same pattern of behavior could be seen in industries where companies race to reduce the consumption of fuel to bring the cost of production and profit under control.

On the other hand, more actions need to be taken to deal with such a major issue as environmental contamination. Firstly, tougher policies related to the environment should be in place to limit the amount of carbon dioxide released into the air. To do this, CO2 quotas should be imposed on industries, and those breaking the law should be punished with zero tolerance. Besides, environment protection campaigns should be encouraged and given adequate publicity to raise awareness of the environmental issue. When one is conscious of the seriousness of the current situation, he or she will be more likely to engage in the preservation efforts.

In conclusion, adjustments to fuel prices alone are insufficient to protect the environment. The government should enact stringent policies and encourage preservation attempts.