Some people think that being born to a poor country is a bad luck while others believe that it only helps fuel one’s aspiration to succeed. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

While many people consider being born to an underdeveloped nation is an unfortunate event, others argue that it can motivate people to succeed in their lives. This essay will discuss both points of view and present my own opinion.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people believe that being a citizen of a third-world is a stroke of bad luck. As a sad truth, an impoverished nation is resource-stretched and sometimes unsafe to live in. Children in these countries do not stay in the educational systems as long as their peers from the developed world since family and the government lack the necessary resources to support their academic pursuit. For example, due to economic reasons, children in many African families are forced to leave school at a young age to work for coal mining factories, leaving them academically disadvantageous. This would be detrimental to their future career prospects as they are only able to get manual-demanding jobs with low incomes.

On the other hand, being born to a poor nation can be a driving force for one’s achievement later in life. As they have been through hardships early, many people gradually develop a desire to live a more comfortable life. This leads them to strive for academic success, a stable career and social status, all of which takes time, effort and long-term commitment. For instance, born to an underprivileged home in Africa, Barack Obama made his effort to become the president of his country, which he tried to lead out of poverty.

In conclusion, a poor background may be considered as bad luck since it leaves people with less access to educational opportunities; however, I believe that living in a poor nation can give people motivation to strive for a better life.