The best way to solve world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

It is argued that the most effective solution to environmental pollution around the world is to lift the price of fuel. I can only partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, raising the cost of fuel can have a direct impact on the demand for fuel. From a consumer’s perspective, when fuel was less affordable, the motive to drive and use fuel-powered engines in households would be weakened, leaving less carbon dioxide emissions released into the atmosphere. At the same time, people would search for other types of energy, most of which available are less detrimental to the environment compared to fossil fuel. The same pattern of behavior could be seen in industries where companies race to reduce the consumption of fuel to bring the cost of production down. All these changes in fuel consumption would spark competition among energy production companies in bringing new, cleaner and cheaper alternatives to fuel to life.

On the other hand, more actions need to be taken to deal with such a global issue as environmental contamination. Firstly, tougher policies related to the environment should be put in place to limit the amount of carbon dioxide released into the air. To do this, CO2 quotas should be imposed on industries, and those being found exceeding the limit should be punished with zero tolerance. Besides, environment protection campaigns should be encouraged and given adequate publicity to raise awareness of environmental issues. When people comprehend the seriousness of the current situation, they will be more likely to engage in preservation efforts.

In conclusion, adjustments to fuel prices alone are insufficient to protect the environment. The government should enact stringent policies and support environmental campaigns.